

## LBCCFA Rep Council Meeting Friday, December 13, 2019 @ 10 a.m. 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. LAC, T2312

## Minutes

Call to order: The meeting started at 10:07 a.m.

**MEMBERS PRESENT**: Robyn Arias, Emily Barrera, Becky Black, Sara Blasetti, Ama Boakyewa, Megan Campos, Ryan Carroll, Susan Chen, Vanessa Crispin-Peralta, Kimberly Davis, Sean Dinces, Nicole Evans, Brian Garcia, Christina Guillen, Jeanie Harris, Alex Hatlestad-Shey, Nicholas Herrera, Pierre Jues, Maureen Mason, Kirsten Moreno, Suman Mudunuri, Diana Ogimachi, Frances Outhwaite, Martha Pamintuan, Velvet Pearson, Laurie Potter, Damon Skinner, Kathleen Vokoun, Brad Wilson

MEMBERS ABSENT: Kim Hatch, Dele Ladejobi, Francisca Mejia-Lopez, Gerardo Monterrubio

CTA Regional Uniserv Staff: Tom Pinkava

VISITORS: Janét Hund

- I. Minutes approved as written.
- II. Approval of Agenda M/S/U (Barrera/Moreno)
- III. Policy 6006-Computer Network Use- Sylvia Lynch from LBCC IITS went over the policies. A lengthy discussion ensued on the many ways it may affect FA members. Bottom line; don't use college computers or wifi in any way that could be seen as inappropriate.
- IV. Bargaining Survey results-Janét Hund reviewed each survey question and results in detail. Discussion ensued.
  - a. The College should use a % of class max. size, instead of hard number, especially for CTE classes. i.e. 40 max class size will still run with 20, but a CTE class of 24 won't run with 19. Many things need to be taken into consideration. CTE classes have safety and equipment availability to take into account when considering that number.
  - b. Articles to Sunshine in Jan 2020 to the BOT are;
    - i. Article 2: Association Rights
    - ii. Article 3: Organizational Security
    - iii. Article 6: Leaves
    - iv. Article 8: Working Conditions
    - v. Article 10: Faculty Evaluation
    - vi. Article 11: Hours of Employment/Service Load
    - vii. Article 12: Salary
    - viii. Article 13: Department Heads
    - ix. Article 14: Retirement Options and Benefits
    - x. Article 17: Reopeners
    - xi. Article 22: Duration of Agreement
  - c. The Negotiation Team is Sofia Beas, Suzanne Engelhardt, and Dr. Sethuraman.
- V. College Committee Reports no report submitted.
- VI. Rep Council Department Reports no reports submitted.
- VII. Presidents Report Diana Ogimachi

- a. Good Teaching Conference (Southern area): FA will sponsor 2 FT faculty members to attend.
- b. Shared Sick pool workgroup will be formed to formalize the guidelines of using donated time. Laurie Potter volunteered to be part of the committee.
- c. Re-assigned time for spring will be 60% President, 20% Grievance, 10% Vice President, and 10% Communications
- d. Board of Trustees the agenda for today's meeting has a link to the Student Funding Presentation.
- e. Carl Perkins Funding FYI, Melissa Infusino, Director, Workforce Development oversee this. LBCC will receive \$800,000 yearly for CTE.
- f. BOT meeting:
  - i. Labor Center Spring 2020 is projected date.
  - ii. Michelle Obama Library Spring 2020 non-credit classes taught
  - iii. North Long Beach Expansion
    - 1. The building needs a lot of work.
    - 2. How are non-credit courses decided?
    - 3. It is across from the Michelle Obama Library, and this area will be called The Beat.
  - iv. FON 28 new FT faculty would need to be hired to keep the Faculty Obligation Number if they were to look at today's numbers; if the hold harmless were to be implemented we would not need to hire anyone. So 18 new FT faculty members are scheduled to be hired for Fall 2020. A question was raised if is it better to pay a one year FON penalty as opposed to on going salaries/benefits by hiring?

It was agreed to extend the meeting an additional 10 minutes.

- g. PCC renaming is on hold for the time being.
- VIII. Vice President Kirstin Moreno, report in packet.
  - a. If there is a problem in your classroom please fill out a public incident report, as they are being tracked for statistics.
  - IX. Secretary Christina Guillen, report in packet.
    - a. Results of election was reported. Report attached.
  - X. Treasurer Report Ryan Carroll, report in packet.
    - a. It was reported that the FA 990 tax form has been created and will be sent in December.
  - XI. Grievance Report Velvet Pearson, report in packet.
    - a. Ryan Carroll elaborated on Unit Reduction Request. Unit reduction and student success do not go hand in hand.
- XII. Communications Report Sean Dinces, no report in packet.
- XIII. Probationary Report Ama Boakyewa, no report in packet.
- XIV. Equity Report Suman Mudunuri, reported on the President's Equity trainings. In January the group that finished training will meet with Faculty Professional Development.
- XV. Membership Report Vanessa Crispin-Peralta, report in packet.
- XVI. PCC Report Maureen Mason, no report in packet.
- XVII. LAC Report Nick Herrera, no report in packet.
- XVIII. PAC Report Damon Skinner, no report in packet.
- XIX. CTA Report Tom Pinkava, no report in packet.
  - a. Schools and Communities First will be on the CA ballot. Tom gave an overview of the initiative. It doesn't affect homeowners, is aimed for businesses of 4 million or larger. Tom had signature forms for both LA and OC counties.
- XX. Old business
- XXI. New Business
  - a. Non-credit classes need a work group. Maureen Mason will head it up.
- XXII. Meeting was adjourned at 12:12 pm.

## Congratulations to the following people who were elected to their positions:

LBCCFA Executive Board (1 semester term, Spring 2020)

Vice-President: Robyn Arias

**Members of the Executive Board (through Spring 2020):** President: Diana Ogimachi, Treasurer: Ryan Carroll, Secretary: Christina Guillen, Grievance Chair: Velvet Pearson, PCC Representative: Maureen Mason, LAC Representative: Nicholas Herrera, Membership Chair: Vanessa Crispin-Peralta, Equity Chair: Suman Mudunuri, PAC Chairperson: Damon Skinner, Probationary Faculty Rep: Ama Boakyewa, and Communications Chair: Sean Dinces

## LBCCFA Representative Council

Counseling Sp 2021: Sara Blasetti Foreign Language Sp 2021: Veronica Alvarez Kinesiology Sp 2020: Jonathan Charette Math & Engineering Sp 2020: Ratanamuny Ngo

**The continuing members of the Representative Council are:** Jeanie Harris, Kathleen Vokoun, Alex Hatlestad-Shey, Kimberly Davis, Pierre Jues, Brian Garcia, Laurie Potter, Becky Black, Emily Barrera, Robyn Arias, Dele Ladejobi, Francis Outhwaite, Nicole Evans, Martha Pamintuan, Kim Hatch, Brad Wilson, Megan Campos, Ama Boakyewa, Damon Skinner, Gerardo Monterrubio